Tales from the Engineering Floor – 5 Stages of Programmer Incompetence

This description isn’t only apt for programmers, I would apply it to engineers who regularly write programming code for their applications. It describes a journey of a programmer who goes through the following stages:

  • Enthusiastic Newbie
  • Budding Genius
  • Abstraction Freak
  • Veteran
  • Guru

On second thought, I think the journey describes any engineer.

If you’re looking for programming books, I tend to like the O’reilly series. Good editing, clear examples, and they really cover the gamut. Check out the cover of the Learning Perl, 5th Edition
, and see if you aren’t attracted to the retro look.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: