Petronas picks new board member, changes committee heads

October 25, 2015

Tahniah, Datuk Omar. Let’s go for teh tarik someday.

Dateline 2015-09-24, The Star:

Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas) has made some changes to its board, bringing in the former head of the Securities Commission (SC), Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar, and shuffling the heads of some of its board committees.

It is speculated that more board changes are in the offing for the national oil company, with a few new ones to come in while some existing board members may leave when their terms end.

Petronas recently saw a change of guard in the form of the departure of Tan Sri Shamsul Azhar Abbas at its helm, with the reins being handed over to new CEO Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin. StarBiz had speculated that some board changes would be in the offing following this.

The new changes are reflected in Petronas’ website today.

Datuk Mohd Omar Mustapha has replaced Datin Yap Siew Bee as chairman of Petronas’ remuneration committee, while Datuk Muhammad Ibrahim was made chairman of the audit committee replacing Krishnan Menon.